…and yet

  http://octarin.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/disconnected/

 I read this blog this morning and felt inspired by the clear articulation of the sense of pessimism. There are truths in what is written here. Indeed it resonates to so many feelings I’ve had and stories I’ve heard and yet…

 “me feeling disconnected from everything and everyone, hence the title of the post.”

 Experience has shown me disconnection is at once our greatest individual agony and conversely probably the greatest illusionary human-created and self-fulfilling concept ever.

 “… That Man is the product of causes which had no prevision of the end they were achieving; that his origins, his growth, his hopes and fears, his loves and his beliefs, are but the outcome of accidental collocations of atoms…”

 And yet… through the sciences we learn we are star stuff…made from the very fabric of the universe. Our connection therefore with all that ‘is’ is absolute.

 “when the whole world is a flat,  immovable, warm broth of “whaterver”-ness, you just get the very distinct urge to throw your hands in the air and give the heck up for today”

 And yet…in that very “broth of whateverness” you can add your own unique spiciness and create somethingness!

 “There’s only reason. Only reason. And reason dictates that if something that happens is contrary to my well-being, it’s, at the very least, unwarranted. At worst, immoral. Moreover, if there is no logical reason for it to happen, it’s arbitrary and should be henceforth stricken out.”

And yet…is it unreasonable, unwarranted or immoral that  fire creates growth, that volcanoes produce idyllic islands, that transformation is natural and thus growing pains are well…just that…growing pains.

Reason does not tell me that occurrences contrary to my wellbeing are illogical (though it does tell me to duck :)); they are part and parcel of organic reality. The more reasonable question then might be ‘why is this part of the human experience’.

 “that all the labours of the ages, all the devotion, all the inspiration, all the noonday brightness of human genius, are destined to extinction in the vast death of the solar system, and that the whole temple of Man’s achievement must inevitably be buried beneath the debris of a universe in ruins”

 And yet…we don’t know this. We do know we are fixated by beginnings and endings, and we know that ‘time’ is a mental construct rather than a valid external reality. How then can we hope to ‘know’ what our individual ripples will become, not to mention that the whole concept of Universe is only partially understood?

 Ultimately the author describes herself as both a pessimist and a cynic so  I guess I’ll have to call myself an optimist and believer.

 “…and then, right as you start hoping, you get a bulldozer full of crunched up bricks on the head as payment.”

 I’ve had, I think it fair to say, an unusual amount of crunched up bricks falling on my head. That has never killed my optimism though it certainly has drained my energy at times.

 Reason has taught me that Life cannot be judged according to the singular events occurring to a singular person any more than we can make closed assumptions regarding our, or the universes eventual destiny.

 I see great reason for optimism and excitement. In what we can become, in what we might discover. It is our potential that excites me. And the inarguable reality of human psychological evolution; ever expanding, ever learning and despite all the falling bricks, getting better and better.

 What do you think? Is this different perception just genetic differences, interpretation differences or is it simpler, or more complex than that?

 Cheers…Leesa

4 thoughts on “…and yet

  1. Thank you Leesa for quoting my last-night post, it was a surprise to read your comment this morning. I am happy to agree and disagree with you, and yes maybe this is just the sign of a transitional period, maybe not, only time can tell. But I loved the anti-argument nonetheless!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it in the spirit it was written :). One reasonable reality is all is in transition…gives me the sh-ts sometimes, but it be true nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

