And Jesus Wept

According to a recent Pew Research Center poll, American Evangelicals are most likely to favor reducing funding for the following items in the federal budget:

  • Aid to the world’s poor
  • Unemployment
  • Environment
  • Health care
  • Scientific research
  • Aid to U.S. poor

I came across this just now on my usual Sunday morning tag surfing habit at http://geochristian.wordpress.com/. Oh and apparently these American evangelicals are more likely to want to see increase in military spending than non-evangelicals.

To summarise…

These folk want to decrease their help to the poor and the sick and…

Increase their capacity to inflict violence upon others.

and Jesus wept

23 thoughts on “And Jesus Wept

  1. As an American who has fought for universal health care and against war, racial and gender discrimination, I can also tell you that two of my sisters are on the Tea Party bandwagon. They both feel they are good Christians (as they are entitled to… whatever gets you through the day.), but as for me and mine, we will serve God. We will feed the poor. We will harbor undocumented immigrants. We will most of all continue to fight our own government, no matter who is in office, for equal rights for ALL in our country.

    Jesus had a lot to cry about. And so do we. But crying without action is pointless, so I email and phone every day on behalf of those who aren’t as lucky as I am to have a roof over my head and bread on the table. Oops, I’m ranting, sorry! GREAT research, Leesa, and GREAT commentary, elegant and biblically based. Peace, Amy

    • I Like what you say. The only place I’ve ever had trouble finding the presence of God is in a church! I’m so thankful that I live in the middle of the forest where Spirit abounds.
      Love and Blessings

      • Moana I hear you. I personally found Churches to be the most soul destroying places and yet for me, once the religous dogma and the peoples prejudice is ignored Jesus is my all time fave teacher simply because his words (minus the RCC adaptions) hold undeniable truth. And yes, I too find deep spirit within this gift of nature we take so for granted.

    • Amy I love your ranting :).

      And you are right…we cry but then we must act for otherwise it seems to me, we too are guilty. Let us all stand up for ALL no matter their country, their religion, their color, their sexuality, their opinions, their behaviour.

      • As a European who has lived in the States for the last 16 years I am appalled and disgusted at what is being done and said in the name of religion. I don’t believe ( I don’t think) but I try to be respecful of all faiths and beliefs but, at times, the Christian right in this country makes it really hard for people like me to keep a civilized tone. Kind of like your “idiot” comment that came out umpropted…..Love your blog by the way….

      • Hi, Leesa,

        This is for claudiagiulia .

        HI. My name is meredith, and I feel embarrassed, as an American, to take in your comment. I often wonder where the healthy sense of shame and genuine, righteous indignation got lost. But… I also want to say that this is a good opportunity for you to recognize the Squeaky Wheel for what it is and know that the Christian Right have no more power… actually less…. than other communities of people who gather.

        I had to shut out all the noise to find my own spirit…. and I was born here. I learned, in shutting out the noisy, clanging gongs, that people of genuine power are generally rather quiet. They do instead of shout. They seldom seek positions of prominence because they just want to get the work done that really needs doing… and that always happens behind the curtain, not on stage.

        You don’t have to buy the Dog and Pony show. Really. Many, many people have incredible integrity and work very hard for the love of their passion.

        I hope you will consider this. I was recently in a foreign country and had a wonderful time mixing with a very international community of people. I loved every moment of it, and was glad to be away from my country’s “noise,” speak a different language, and play some kind of card game I was invited to join.

        I came home with great hope in my heart. I’d like to pass it forward to you.

        Best wishes,

        ~meredith~

      • This, too, is for Claudiagiulia. Unfortunately, the things that are shouted the loudest are oftentimes those who ARE the loudest…on all sides of things…not just the so-called “Christian right”. There are also many people who live out the passion of their lives in quiet. They are not reported on. You don’t often hear about them…but they are there. 🙂

        Remember, too, that not everyone who uses the label “Christian” is one.

  2. I wonder, though, before we judge too harshly. These people are against the government taking care of these things. In reality…it is not the governments job to do any of this. Maybe it is in some other country, but our Constitution says the Federal government is only supposed to deal with national defense and national commerce.

    If, in fact, that was all our government was dealing with, we would not have as many poor. There would be more money for the research and for medical care…more money for the creation of jobs and more money in the hands of individuals.

    There would also be more money that people in the body of Yeshua could share with those who really are the poor in this country. No where does Yeshua say for the government to take care of the poor. In fact, they do a very poor job of it anyway. If they simply gave to people all the money spent on the programs for the poor there wouldn’t be any poor left!

    There are a lot of good hearted people who really want to help the poor, but all their extra money goes to the government which wastes it horribly. Then there are those who won’t give because, after all, it’s the government’s job! I believe that, if the government got out of the job of taking care of the poor, that there are many people who would wake up to their responsibility and many others who want to help who would have the resources freed up to do so.

    It is the local community that can best care for the poor. They see them. They know their real needs. And those of us who are disciples of Yeshua should be a huge part of that.

    So, in all fairness, it is possible that this survey does not reflect a lack of desire to see the poor (or these other things) taken care of. It may simply reflect an acknowledgment that it is not the governments job to do so.

    Another thing I would like to point out…having gotten “assistance” from some of those programs…is that they tie your hands to actually improve your situation. Anything you do is held against you…as opposed to when “churches” help…or local community organizations. They don’t take away from their help simply because someone else helped you, too. We have a local organization that helps people and they get grants from the wealthy to do it.

    Government programs are impersonal. Individuals in the local community can be personal. I say “can” because they, too, can be rather impersonal. However, at least they can be flexible. Government programs cannot. I know.

    Anyway…just some thoughts.

    • and good thoughts they are too! You remind me that we all come from different countries and as such we must consider the context. I have known America holds a different view re the role of government that for example us here in Australia but actually I’ve never read such a clear explanation as yours so I am grateful.

      I absolutley accept the issue of depersonalization but I do wonder …if the government doesnt take on these issues and leaves it up to the local communities how many folk just get ignored? The last time I was in the States I admit to being struck dumb by the amount of homeless on the streets and more how easily my American friends ignored them.

      • Unfortunately, a lot of that is the RESULT of the government taking things over. Back with the New Deal and the start of the “Welfare state”, the responsibility started to shift. It used to be that communities and churches took care of their own. It was expected. Now, sadly, it no longer is…at least not to the extent that it used to be. It does still happen, but not nearly as much.

        The reality is that the gov is not really doing that great a job anyway. It is really more about control and there are, as you saw, people who are not getting helped anyway. Plus, the way things are set up…some people are actually rewarded for splitting families apart and unwed pregnancies, etc.

        I think that, if the gov bowed out, there would be a learning curve. I also like to think that our better natures WOULD reach out and make up the gap. Gov programs have been pulled before and people stepped up to the plate. I think they would do it again. Alas…I doubt they will be given the opportunity.

  3. Claudia…glad you like my blog 🙂

    I too often feel challenged to remain calm in the face of American extremisim so clearly demonstrated by the christian right. Just about every day in the three months I spent last time in the States I was gob-smacked by the outrageous and bluntly ignorant and hateful stuff that came out of folks mouth and the more christian right the more this was so. I came home with an aching jaw due to clenching my teeth to prevent abusive words spewing from my mouth and a deep awareness of how my ethic of tolerance of all points of view was challenged.

    But I think Meredith also has a good point.

    My son, Mr 15, recently had a rant (teens do this a lot I find :)) at how mean/stupid/ignorant folk are after seeing some anti-gay, anti-muslim, anti-peace American christian righters on tv and I had to remind him that the media picks up on the noisy, the extremists, the outrageous when in actual fact there are many more folk trying to build bridges rather than tearing them down.

    • I notice there is a tendency to focus on people who say things we don’t want to hear and labeling them as hateful. Just because people are trying to bring out the truth and are not in agreement does not make them hateful.

      For example…there are things being openly stated in Arabic in the Islamic states that we need to be aware of. There are ex-Muslims (and even current Muslims) who are trying to expose the truth of Islam and the agenda of the Arabic Muslims. These are things that are going to impact our country in a huge way if we are not careful. Look at what is happening in Dearborn, MI. That is what is coming if we don’t wake up.

      Now…am I being hateful for saying that? No…not at all. What people don’t understand is that while you and I think everyone should be allowed to practice their religion…whether we agree with it or not…Islam does NOT teach that. They teach only submission to Islam…period. That is why they want to bring Sharia here…to keep their own people in bondage and to bring us into bondage.

      Am I anti-Muslim people? No! But I know I must stand against their determination to bring only Islam to this country. Educating people is not hating. It is not being anti-Muslim. Think I am nuts? Check out this link: http://www.shariah4america.com/NewYork/The-Islamic-Demolition-of-the-Statue-of-Liberty

      There is a lot of information out there…if you really want to see the truth.

      And that is just one example. I could also address other subjects.

      Anyway…just trying to make a point here. There are a lot of labels being thrown around on all sides. Let’s be careful not to broadbrush people.

      • I think the word fearful rather than hateful is relevant. I truly appreciate your opinion however the link you gave has so many errors in it kind of destroys itself. This very much reminds me of when certain folk were terrified of communists ‘taking over’ destroying all that some folk stand for etc etc.

        No I don’t think you are being hateful but I do think much more study is required. To find radicals who write such things (as the link you provide) in any group of people is easy but it is also unbalanced and in no way does it show ‘truth’.

      • I am curious, Leesis, as to what you think is inaccurate in the link and how do you know? I am very open. I have watched and read people who have come out of Islam…people from the everyday person to people who are higher up in levels. They all pretty much say the same thing.

        Another to remember…sometimes fear is a good thing. It is what can keep us safe. Also, there is a difference between fear and a healthy respect and vigilance. I used to work with chemicals. While I did not fear them…I did have a healthy respect for what they can do and I never let my guard down because of that.

        Being an SRA survivor, there are places I did/do not go and times I did/do not go out. Fear? No…just being smart and listening to the Holy Spirit inside telling what is safe and what is not.

        I know there are fearmongerers out there…and I hate that. It clouds the issues and makes it harder for the real facts to be accepted.

        Anyway…just my thoughts.

  4. Pingback: Persimmon Frost » Post Topic » Jesus wept

Leave a Reply

