To All Year Twelve Students

 

 “I’m an old man now.

I’ve lived a long and difficult life filled with so many misfortunes,

most of which never happened.” Mark Twain

 

When a writer writes a line that hangs around a long time, it is because there is a truth within that touches us all.

When I first read these two sentences of Mark Twain, I had an immediate “so true” response.

So how does this relate to you?

A student told me yesterday that some of her peers are so stressed they are losing their hair, are self-destructive in different ways and a mess. My response?

It is just not going to be that bad even if you stuff it all up completely.

Give it your best and if ya fail, there are other avenues to achieve your goals.

And, what Mark Twain says.

Most of what we fear never happens.

How much time then, in our day-to-day lives, do we want to think about what isn’t going to happen but is simply a conditioned response to the ‘fear’ message of many, too many, adults.

 

Whatever happens you’ll be fine dudes!

So study, learn, do your best and leave the stress to your parents 🙂

 

Cheers and hugs…Leesa

Leave a comment